News from Maryland Colony


“HONOURED SIR, Maryland, March 20, 1696-7.

I DOUBT not ere this but you are as impatient to hear of my health and circumstances as I am to acquaint you thereof, which I shall do in as few words as I can. After we set sail from the Isle of Wight, methought the fatigue of the voyage was over, for I was then in hopes shortly to leave my floating prison, that had almost worn out my little patience by reason of our long embargo. We were about seven weeks in our passage from the Land’s End to the Capes of Virginia, during which time, as also while we lay in the Downs, I enjoyed my health very well, having not in the least been discommoded by the sea… read on!

via: Calvert Historical Society Blog

Leave a Reply

